2024 RT Amination Banner.gif

China Daily

News> Sports> Content
Tuesday, October 22, 2019, 10:02
Messi faces Ronaldo, Van Dijk but no Neymar for Ballon d'Or
By Associated Press
Tuesday, October 22, 2019, 10:02 By Associated Press

Barcelona's soccer player Lionel Messi holds the award of UEFA Champions League forward of the season 2018/19 during the UEFA Champions League group stage draw at the Grimaldi Forum, in Monaco, Aug 29, 2019. (DANIEL COLE / AP PHOTO)

PARIS - Lionel Messi will have Cristiano Ronaldo and Virgil van Dijk as rivals for the 2019 Ballon d'Or award. But not Neymar.

When the long list of 30 candidates was announced Monday - in the city where Neymar has played for more than two years at Paris Saint-Germain - the Brazil star's name was missing from the nominations by a global voting panel of journalists.

Messi won his sixth FIFA award last month, edging Van Dijk who starred in Liverpool's Champions League-winning team

Messi and Ronaldo's 10-year grip on the individual award organized by France Football magazine was broken by Luka Modric last December.

ALSO READ: Ronaldo's step-over move fools another defender

Modric is also absent one year after he swept the Ballon d'Or and FIFA best player awards after a stellar 2018 with Real Madrid and Croatia.

World Cup winner Megan Rapinoe is favored to add a Ballon d'Or to her FIFA award won last month.

The United States star is joined on a 20-woman list by teammates Tobin Heath and Alex Morgan. Defending her title is Ada Hegerberg, winner of the inaugural women's award, from Europe's dominant club team Lyon which has six nominees.

Neymar has twice placed third in Ballon d'Or voting, both times finishing behind Messi and Ronaldo. Moving out of Messi's shadow in Barcelona, where they won a Champions League title together in 2015, has not delivered the personal acclaim Neymar sought.

Neymar JR (right) of Paris Saint-Germain vies with Antoine Bobichon of Angers during the Ligue 1 match between Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) and Angers at Parc des Princes in Paris, France, Oct 5, 2019. (JACK CHAN / XINHUA)

Messi won his sixth FIFA award last month, edging Van Dijk who starred in Liverpool's Champions League-winning team.

Van Dijk would be the first defender topping the poll since Italy's World Cup-winning captain Fabio Cannavaro in 2006.

The Liverpool center back was among seven teammates nominated, including Alisson Becker and Roberto Firmino. They also won the Copa America with a Brazil team that managed without an injured Neymar.

Van Dijk and Georginio Wijnaldum also figured in the five nominees from a resurgent Netherlands team. No Dutch player has won since Marco van Basten in 1992.

READ MORE: Ballon d'Or 1sts: Modric wins, Hegerberg takes women's award

Liverpool forwards Sadio Mané and Mohamed Salah are among a six-strong African challenge, including Mané's Senegal teammate, Napoli defender Kalidou Koulibaly.

Liverpool's Virgil van Dijk, right and Liverpool's manager Jurgen Klopp greet supporters at the end of the English Premier League soccer match between Manchester United and Liverpool at the Old Trafford stadium in Manchester, England, Oct 20, 2019. (JON SUPER / AP PHOTO)

The only Asian player on the list is South Korea forward Son Heung-min of Champions League finalist Tottenham.

The awards ceremony is Dec 2 in Paris.

Men's list:

Sergio Agüero (Argentina, Manchester City), Trent Alexander-Arnold (England, Liverpool), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon, Arsenal), Alisson Becker (Brazil, Liverpool), Karim Benzema (France, Real Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium, Manchester City), Frenkie De Jong (Netherlands, Ajax/Barcelona), Matthijs de Ligt (Netherlands, Ajax/Juventus), João Félix (Portugal, Benfica/ Atlético Madrid), Roberto Firmino (Brazil, Liverpool), Antoine Griezmann (France, Atlético Madrid/Barcelona), Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea/Real Madrid), Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal, Napoli), Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern Munich), Hugo Lloris (France, Tottenham), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria, Manchester City), Sadio Mané (Senegal, Liverpool), Marquinhos (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain), Kylian Mbappé (France, Paris Saint-Germain), Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona),  Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Juventus), Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool),  Bernardo Silva (Portugal, Manchester City), Son Heung-Min (South Korea, Tottenham), Raheem Sterling (England, Manchester City), Dusan Tadic (Serbia, Ajax), Marc-André ter Stegen (Germany, Barcelona), Donny van de Beek (Netherlands, Ajax), Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands, Liverpool), Georginio Wijnaldum (Netherlands, Liverpool).

Women's list:

Kosovare Asllani (Sweden, Linköpings/Tacon), Sarah Bouhaddi (France, Lyon), Lucy Bronze (England, Lyon), Pernille Harder (Denmark, Wolfsburg), Ada Hegerberg (Norway, Lyon), Amandine Henry (France, Lyon), Nilla Fischer (Sweden, Wolfsburg/Linköpings), Tobin Heath (United States, Portland Thorns), Sofia Jakobsson (Sweden, Montpellier/Tacon), Sam Kerr (Australia, Perth Glory/Chicago Red Stars), Rose Lavelle (United States, Washington Spirit), Dzsenifer Marozsan (Germany, Lyon), Marta (Brazil, Orlando Pride), Lieke Martens (Netherlands, Barcelona), Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands/Arsenal), Alex Morgan (United States, Orlando Pride), Megan Rapinoe (United States, Seattle Reign), Wendie Renard (France, Lyon), Sari van Veenendaal (Netherlands, Arsenal/Atletico Madrid), Ellen White (England, Manchester City).

Share this story

Please click in the upper right corner to open it in your browser !