2022 RT Banner.gif

China Daily

News> World> Content
Wednesday, October 09, 2019, 18:35
3 win Nobel in Chemistry for work on lithium-ion batteries
By Associated Press
Wednesday, October 09, 2019, 18:35 By Associated Press

A screen displays the laureates of the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, from left, John B Goodenough, M Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino "for the development of lithium-ion batteries", during a news conference at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm, Sweden, Oct 9, 2019. (NAINA HELEN JAMA/TT VIA AP)

STOCKHOLM — Three scientists on Wednesday were awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for their contributions to the development of lithium-ion batteries, which have reshaped energy storage and transformed cars, mobile phones and many other devices in an increasingly portable and electronic world.

The prize went to John B Goodenough of the University of Texas; M Stanley Whittingham of the State University of New York at Binghamton; and Akira Yoshino of Asahi Kasei Corporation and Meijo University in Japan.

The Nobel committee said lithium-ion batteries "have revolutionized our lives" — and the laureates "laid the foundation of a wireless, fossil fuel-free society"

Goran Hansson, secretary general of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, said the prize was about "a rechargeable world."

In a statement, the committee said lithium-ion batteries "have revolutionized our lives" — and the laureates "laid the foundation of a wireless, fossil fuel-free society."

The Nobel committee said the lithium-ion battery has its roots in the oil crisis in the 1970s, when Whittingham was working to develop methods aimed at leading to fossil fuel-free energy technologies.

READ MORE: Are we alone? Nobel Prize goes to 3 who tackled cosmic query

The prizes come with a 9-million kronor (US$918,000) cash award, a gold medal and a diploma that are conferred on Dec 10 — the anniversary of Nobel's death in 1896 — in Stockholm and in Oslo, Norway.

In this Feb 1, 2013 file photo, US President Barack Obama awards the National Medal of Science to Dr John Goodenough of the University of Texas, during a ceremony in the East Room of the White House in Washington. (CHARLES DHARAPAK / AP)

Prize founder Alfred Nobel, a Swedish industrialist who invented dynamite, decided the physics, chemistry, medicine and literature prizes should be awarded in Stockholm, and the peace prize in Oslo.

ALSO READ: Trio wins Nobel prize for oxygen studies that led to anemia drugs

On Tuesday, Canadian-born James Peebles won the Physics Prize for his theoretical discoveries in cosmology together with Swiss scientists Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz, who were honored for finding an exoplanet — a planet outside our solar system — that orbits a solar-type star.

In this June 21, 2013 file photo, Japanese chemist Akira Yoshino speaks during Global Energy Prize award ceremony in St. Petersburg, Russia. (DMITRY LOVETSKY / AP)

Americans William G Kaelin Jr and Gregg L Semenza and Britain's Peter J Ratcliffe won the Nobel Prize for advances in physiology or medicine on Monday. They were cited for their discoveries of "how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability."

Two literature laureates are to be announced Thursday, because last year's award was suspended after a scandal rocked the Swedish Academy. The coveted Nobel Peace Prize is Friday and the economics award on Monday.

Share this story

Please click in the upper right corner to open it in your browser !