China Daily

News> World> Content
Tuesday, February 12, 2019, 22:56
40 countries agree cars must have automatic braking
By Reuters
Tuesday, February 12, 2019, 22:56 By Reuters

Cars make their way up the Kaiserdamm in Berlin on Oct 8, 2018. (JOHN MACDOUGALL / AFP)

GENEVA - Forty countries including Japan and the European Union have agreed on a draft UN regulation for advanced emergency braking systems (AEBS) for new cars and light commercial vehicles from early 2020, a UN agency said on Tuesday.

The new regulation, compulsory for countries that adopt it at a June session, will impose strict and harmonised requirements for automatic braking at speeds of up to 60 km per hour to save lives, especially in urban settings, the UN Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) said.

ALSO READ: Beijing gives boost to driverless cars

"It activates the brake to stop a crash and that's it ... It will not drive, it will brake," UNECE spokesman Jean Rodriguez told a briefing. There will be no obligation to retrofit older vehicles, he said.

READ MORE: Tesla, BMW electrics fall short of highest crash-test rating

Japan and the EU have said the new AEBS system will become mandatory, representing some 4 million and 15 million new cars respectively each year, the UNECE statement said.

More than 9,500 fatalities were recorded in car crashes in cities in the EU in 2016, 40 percent of them pedestrians, it said.   

Share this story

Please click in the upper right corner to open it in your browser !